Gallery

Currency Museum-Colombo


The World Through My Camera Lense

Rankahawenu-coin

During the last School holidays I decided to take my 14 year old son to the Currency Museum on Chatham street, Colombo, Sri Lanka. I was really not expecting much but since my son was a coin collector I thought this was an ideal way to keep him occupied during the holidays. Also as a former employee of the Central Bank I was interested to see what this museum was like.

As we walked through the doors of the imposing newly renovated old colonial building where the Currency Museum was located the massive chandelier hanging from the dome-like ceiling and the imposing marble staircase took me by surprise. But this was nothing compared to the awe I felt when I entered the Museum itself. It was fabulous and of very high international standard.

This museum is run by the Central Bank of Sri Lanka and located on the second floor…

View original post 1,010 more words

Thank for your comments

